Base camp 2

assembled base

Base glued and clamped up

This afternoon I have managed to get the rails for the base glued and clamped up and 90% of the joints are square and level and with only a bit of bend in the rails at one end that I can live with the next task is too add the extension. Once this has been done I can then look at attaching the top. This will need a bit of jigsawing to match the base but should be no biggy. Then I will be ready for the first step in laying track.

Hopefully my order from fasttracks will have arrived by then and I can start thinking about laying the #10 curved switches at each end. I would really like some 9mm roller gauges but as I don’t have access to a lathe I am going to use the 3 point ones ordered and attempt to make some out of brass strips to allow for check rail spacing and the likes. Oh for a lathe! and a milling machine. But just can’t justify it at the moment to knock up some track gauges. However in the future and getting round to flogging a load of stuff on eBay might be able to come up with something.

Anyway that’s a bit of a way off yet 🙂 and have to make sure the top is nice and flat first. Progress is slow at the moment still as things stand in the way but hoping to have the woodwork completed next week once I have gone and got the wood for the top.

In the meantime I am collecting reference material with the aid of google maps etc to build the picture of what I want to achieve on the layout. I plan to do some mockups of the structures etc to see how things fit together before I go ahead and start the buildings and related ‘stuff’ Then it will be onto wiring. Anyhoo…..

About 15minutemodeller

Inveterate rubber gauger with an attention span of a gnat. Main interests are NER Steam, Swiss RhB, NA NE Shortlines and maybe a bit of 3rd Rail Southern Electrics. All of which so far are armchair ramblings. So the intention is that this blog helps manifest some real life modelling, with a layout at the end of it.
This entry was posted in woodwork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

